Diversity is the core of the Western Region's strengths.

Ranging from Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington, the region also includes the Pacific Territories of Guam and American Samoa, and the U.S. affiliated island nations of the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Federated States of Micronesia.

The Western Region is a culturally diverse area with widely variable environments and ecosystems.  There are large amounts of woody biomass and some areas with potential for high yield crop production, in addition to waste and residues from the large variety of crops and timber grown in the area.  Rural areas have large distance between population centers and this region frequently has limited production scale, and in some situations, areas have limited infrastructure.